Home Charging for a newbie

Faults and Technical chat for the Audi Q4
kieransampson

Post by kieransampson »

Hi All,

Firstly, apologies for what's a complete newbie question. We had our Pod Point Solo 3 installed back in March/April and our new Q4 arrived in August. We've been happily driving around, but haven't ventured to a charging station or used our own charger. Secondly, I'm so pleased I've stumbled across this forum.

I'm looking for a dummies guide to home charging because I thought it'd be as simple as plug it in and it'd start charging straight away. Unfortunately, when I've tried this, I get the dreaded red light and the message in the car that there's a fault.

I've tried to set a charging schedule on my Pod Point Solo 3, but end up with the same error. I did read somewhere that scheduled charging needs to be switched off on the Q4 before it's enabled on the Pod Point so there's no conflict, but when I've checked it's definitely disabled on the Q4.

Is there a (very) dummies guide to charging?

Many thanks in advance, Kieran

PS: other than the charging aspects, I've had no issues with the car and absolutely love it.

lexathon

Post by lexathon »

Sorry to say, but it does sound like a fault either with the car or the podpoint. You should be able to plug it in and have it charge as simply as you say.
I would see if you can try the car on another charger to see where the fault lies.
kieransampson

Post by kieransampson »

Some good news. I’ve used the 3 pin adapter and it’s started to charge. I guess that means that if there is a fault then it’s with the pod point and not with the car.

At least it narrows down the line of investigation and does mean that we can drive places.

I’m hoping to nip to Tesco later and to try it there as well on one of their pod points, albeit with a faster charge.

I’m still not ruling out user error on my part, which to be honest I’ll be very happy if it is.

Thanks.
ScottyQ4

Post by ScottyQ4 »